The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The development of global tourism is contributing to English becoming the most prominent language around the world. It is believed by some individuals that, this will lead to English becoming the only language used to communicate around the globe. The benefits of having only English spoken globally are such as communication for business and global welfare becomes easier and it also increases job opportunities. While the pitfalls are as follows, other languages are slowly forgotten and it also increases discrimination among the population. Firstly, if there is only English is used to communicate globally then it will be easier for business professionals and political leaders to communicate. This can lead to an increase in the globalization of businesses and it will be also helpful in global welfare. Nowadays, due to increasing globalization, knowing the English language helps an individual to open up more job opportunities. English language is also an important requirement for the majority of high-paying jobs. For instance, India has a large number of languages spoken across the country, so to make communication easier between individuals or businessmen English is used as a staple language. On the other hand, because of an increasing number of people speaking English globally other languages have started to lose their individual identity. This leads to people forgetting about their own mother tongue and it also negatively affects an individual’s culture. In addition to that, this also increases discrimination among the individuals who know English and others who don’t. For example, people are seen making fun of sportspersons or politicians who can't speak English. It becomes very embarrassing and this leads to an increase in the sense of discrimination. In conclusion, there are advantages to speaking only one language globally such as communication becomes easier leading to business and global welfare. In addition to that also opens up more job options. However, there are disadvantages like other languages losing their individual identity, and it also increases discrimination among the population.