In many countries people do not recycle waste materials such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this ? what could be done to solve this problem?

An Increase in waste materials and landfill cause destruction to a plethora of habitats and are unsightly as a whole. Several communities in various nations don't recycle materials such as bottles and newspapers which has become a pressing problem. In this essay, we will discuss how an inadequacy of resources has an impact on recycling and how decreased awareness also plays a detrimental role. The causes of these problems, seem to lie in the lack of awareness and shortage of resources; each will be addressed separately On the one hand, one of the numerous reasons for plummeting rates of recycling may be a consequence of the shortfall of means. As a result, many developing countries are unable to afford the basic amenities for their population therefore, recycling may not be a priority and funding may not be available to invest in an environmentally friendly practice. For example, in developed countries such as the United Kingdom, we have areas specifically designated for our convenience to efficiently convert our materials. These range from supermarkets, malls and allocated points as well as households that have colour-coded bins to recycle. Thus the solution is that resources should be available and put in place by government organisations, making it imperative and hassle-free as bottles and newspapers do require two separate recycling means. On the other hand, much of the population may not be aware of what beneficial implications recycling can have. This brings us to our next problem; lack of awareness. Our community is not given an abundance of information and on the whole, is merely lacking education in this matter. Firstly, Schools as well as the vast majority of professional bodies should encourage children and professionals to try and instil this habit into them with incentives. secondly, television and social media also have a large role to play as now in the 21st century; society tends to believe more in what they see. For example, fines have been imposed on those who fail to separate their household waste from bottles and newspapers. Consequently, to resolve this misconduct, campaigns of encouragement should be run and rewards should be given to boost people to keep recycling. In conclusion, recycling is imperative to help tackle global warming together with endangered species. Encouraging our society by utilising campaigns and incentives can rapidly help eradicate the aforementioned waste effectively. Furthermore, providing readily available means of recycling for people can encourage them to recycle easily and more frequently. However, if measures are not timely put in place, devastating consequences may follow.