Some people say that history offers no practical benefit to society while others claim that history teaches us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History is basically the origin of a nation, which helps us to know our real identity. Some believe that the past has no practical advantages to provide. While others think that history helps us to learn about the present. This essay will discuss both arguments, I believe that our past helps us understand the present. On the one hand, some people argue that the past is not actually beneficial to the nation and it is considered a forgettable past with no importance. There might be very less nations who would prefer to let their chronicle vanish. For instance, in the 1920s, Turks wanted to forget their past and instead, they preferred to be modernized and more open-minded. Which led them to create a modern Turkey and the Ottoman empire was demolished. On the other hand, some people believe that the past is sacred and extremely important for society, as a result, they have strong moral values and great respect for their ancestors and national heroes. For example, Pakistan has more than a hundred years of past, where Pakistanis got numerous strong leaders who are still respected, and the nation learns from their struggles which can help them in many aspects of their lives. Whenever a state is going through difficult times then the state tries to learn from its past to tackle the situation. So the past of society is very important to keep it alive. In conclusion, History is very important and advantageous to help us learn about the present, and in my opinion, it should be kept alive forever.