There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

Recently, there has been a significant increase in the worst committed crimes. Many believe the death penalty is the best solution, while others consider different answers. For example, benefits from it include avoidance of murders and lowering the costs of maintenance of inmates. On the other hand, what if the sentence was wrong? The introduction of the death penalty is the worst possible punishment that a judge can make. Many people feel that is the answer to the issue of criminals like serial killers because if they know about it, they may have second thoughts before committing a crime. It's a kind of prevention. Individuals also believe that's a way to lower the costs of maintenance of prisoners. Prisons generate costs which had to be covered by public taxes. If we eliminated the number of inmates, the national budget would recover. Moreover, societies asked in the survey believe that lowering the costs of running prisons are necessary. On the other hand, everyone deserves a second chance, no matter what actions did in the past. Inmates are people who should have an opportunity to change. There was a famous serial killer, Jaffrey Dahmer, who decided to get baptised when he was in prison. There is also the problem of wrong sentences. What if the judge accuses the suspect of something which wasn't true? In case of that, there won't be a return. That happened mainly in the past. However, there always is a possibility. In conclusion, the death penalty is the most severe type of punishment. The positives are preventing people from committing murders and revealing to the budget, although it contains negatives such as taking away the possibility to change.