Popular events like the Football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tension and safely releasing patriotic emotions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

International sporting occasions such as the football World cup or Olympics are highly anticipated by countries from all over the world. These kinds of events are considered an approach to releasing international tensions as well as patriotic emotions. I believe that those methods are quite an effective way of maintaining peace among communities, although that might not be the case in some circumstances. First of all, there are a few consequences of arranging competitions among conflicting nations. When they are going to compete, the media is going to use this as news material, increasing the pressure and the tension even further. Moreover, the chances of a fight breaking out during or after the match are extremely high. For example, a tragedy happened recently when two rival football clubs had a match. The outcome of the fight was extremely devastating, stadiums were damaged, and lives were lost. On the other hand, sports and games can also help to resolve a problem between states. By competing and interacting with each other, they would be able to understand each other’s position. This will help release the anxiety between the troubled states. Furthermore, citizens and athletes are able to release their patriotic emotions through this kind of event. To give a clear example, supporting, fighting, and winning for their nation in sports are definitely less harmful than doing the same in war. In conclusion, sports are a great way to connect and create peace among all countries, and the destructive results can actually be prevented by having more sportsmanship during the game. All people from across the world should realize that this event is a great way to build a good relationship with other nations.