As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it may be thought that governments should take full responsibility for funding roads’ construction, others may claim that with a growing trend of vehicle purchasing, it is the individuals’ responsibility. As far as I am concerned, this is a relatively shared duty between the government and the community, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, people may think that a road network is one of the essential projects that any government should reinforce and devote a great budget to, as it affects all aspects of the country’s economy and income. For instance: investments in industry, require a great network of roads in order to facilitate the movement of goods and materials. Also, tourism relies on the way you can link and present your vital touristic points. Therefore, from my point of view, I agree that it has to be mostly supported and financed by the government and should not be left to the public’s financial capacity. On the other hand, some may claim that the soaring number of car ownership has placed some burden on systems. Hence, residents should grabble with this issue. I do not entirely agree with this notion, as owning a car is not any more a luxury. The majority of people need to cope with the modern fast-paced life by moving faster, particularly with the recent tendency towards combating centralization in capital and huge cities. However, I believe that individuals also have to contribute to the process of building and maintenance as they use the roads, and their usage results in tear and wear. One example of public participation is the tolls on highways and the great ways linking vast cities. In conclusion, the construction of roads is a major role that has to be led by the government for the sake of the economy and investments, nonetheless, individuals also should take part.