More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Modern fashion trends are at their peak right now, but for some reason, people in our country confuse pricey brands with fashion, leading them to buy more branded goods like clothing, cars, and other items. This article will examine how rising income enhances living standards, which encourages people to flaunt their materialistic lifestyles, and how this results in an unfavourable change. People now tend to equate their prestige, self-worth, and power with these pricey items since society is becoming more materialistic. Increasing standards of living have been a result of higher income. People are therefore in a position to choose premium brands. Although these brands are more reliable and assure quality, they are incredibly expensive. To demonstrate this, a girl's normal cotton T-shirt of decent quality is sold for INR 500 at any store. However, just because it has a valuable brand name on it, the identical T-shirt will cost you three times as much as its genuine value. Additionally, people buy these branded items more frequently today to flaunt them on social media platforms to elevate their emotions, and some feel under pressure to do so in order to uphold their social reputation. For instance, in today's society, all the wealthy individuals—celebrities, businesspeople, etc.—simply purchase pricey branded goods. Sincere to say, this habit has a negative impact on our neighbourhood and is harmful to our society. Small business owners are disappearing and are rarely able to make a living. Spending carelessly on items that are overpriced is also a waste of money. In addition, members of the lower and middle classes envy them and waste money in an effort to keep up with the times, which pushes them into a financial crisis. They can either choose environmentally friendly brands and help the country. In short, a rise in wealth encourages a materialistic lifestyle that sometimes has a detrimental impact on development since it makes it difficult for small businesses to make a livelihood.