Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is true that a growing number of enterprises seek to promote their products and services through sports and sporting celebrities. While some people argue that this is a positive development, I agree with those who consider that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, sponsorship brings money into sports, and some believe that this benefits sports and business in general. Firstly, sponsorship and marketing are linked, and through television sports coverage, for example, both sports and companies profit. Sports, particularly minority sports such as cycling, are able to make the most of sponsorship to increase their popularity and encourage wider public participation. Secondly, as more money is poured into sports, sports stars are paid higher salaries and train full-time to raise their standards. Finally, in terms of advantages for businesses, associating their products with the healthy and popular image of sport enables them to enhance their public image and to break into new markets. On the other hand, I support the opposing view that the entry of business money into sports has betrayed the Olympic ideal. Companies simply strive to gain a competitive edge over their rivals and maximize their profits. Sports merchandising – like Nike and the National Basketball Association in the US – sometimes connects the product and the sport, but often it does not. Liverpool FC, for example, is sponsored by a bank. However, money in sports has resulted in a win-at-all-costs attitude, encouraging bribery or the use of illegal substances such as performance-enhancing drugs. Individual celebrities, like Cristiano Ronaldo, have gained a fortune from the endorsement of sporting goods, and enjoy millionaire lifestyles. In conclusion, I totally agree with the critics of sponsorship in sports. While it has made profits for business, sponsorship has destroyed the sporting spirit of fun and fairness.