Road accidents are more frequent these days and claim many lives each year. As a result, some people suggest that drivers should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single driving test, to improve the situation. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of repeat driving tests? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

At present, deaths due to road accidents claim a significant portion of accidental deaths and have become very common in society. Hence there is an argument to implement repetitive driving tests expecting to minimize to mitigate the risk. Since there are advantages and disadvantages to the matter, I believe it is always advantageous while adopt a few changes than not entirely doing it. Driving tests always check the basics first. As a result of it, drivers are forced to know, remember and follow the standard procedures and should always be aware of the road signs. This is one of the greatest advantages of the matter since drivers have to follow them as a practice. Moreover, periodic tests will allow drivers to learn about new things and procedures, hence it will develop the knowledge of drivers as well. To support this statement, as an example, authorities can implement mechanisms to re-evaluate the abilities of drivers and develop them where they show lagging. Although that is the case, it carries disadvantages as well. Frequent or periodical testing will consume money and time. It will have a severe impact on the economic activities of society and will load an additional burden on top of them. As an example, due to this implementation, there is a significant chance of getting someone left from very critical activities, since all have to follow the procedure throughout the year. Another disadvantage would be new traffic which can be caused by the new system. It will again add a considerable number of vehicles to the road for the test purpose and will consume resources of the people not only of the driver under testing but also of the entire community. In conclusion, there is no doubt that road accidents pose a great threat to the lives of humans. Hence systems for re-testing should be implemented, but not for all. There should be a procedure to identify poor drivers from the road and they should be forwarded for re-testing to make the most out of the implementation. That would be more productive and advantageous for society.