Some people believe that a lot of research is a waste of time and money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, technology invaded the modern lifestyle and it is an immense necessity that people use this to their advantage. Research of all sorts is required in order to evolve our society's needs, and many are in favour of providing scientists with funds and resources. At the same time though, the opponents argue that it is not only a waste of time, but also a waste of money. Personally, I support the former, with the latter having some serious counterarguments one should absolutely take into account. To begin with, research can occur in almost all aspects of human life. Medical research is vital, as it is the leading force which provides the world with more precise equipment as well as brand-new targeted treatments. One should only remember, how shortened life span used to be before drugs were discovered, to appreciate the importance of constant developments. Another example that proves this point, is the invention of vaccines. Due to the numerous highly transmittable diseases that were once untreatable, namely HPV, HSV and mumps, the need for prevention was obvious. Therefore, biochemists and physicians devoted their valuable time and helped to diminish the prevalence of illnesses and even eliminate some of them. Environment-related experiments are of utmost importance, especially in the 21st century. Considering, the uncontrollable destruction of our natural resources and our planet altogether, it is undeniable that specialists should try to invent efficient ways to reverse the damage. Governments should in no way, cut down on the budget meant for lab investigations, since according to estimates, it is essential that our nations act fast, as to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, like carbon dioxide. Furthermore, the oceans are in deep need of help. Animals have gone extinct and that has a detrimental effect on our ecosystem's food chain. Consequently, marine biologists have made the best use of the capital the authorities had provided them with, and created sea blocks in order to allow endangered species, such as white sharks, to grow safely. Nevertheless, it is without a doubt significant to make wise use of the country's resources. A vast number of people claim that it is best to use the money to fight unemployment, homelessness and hunger. One cannot argue, that municipalities should always keep their citizens' well-being above all. However, doing research can also open new job positions and it is not fair to completely abandon it. All things considered, it is undeniable that scientific discoveries have drastically improved our quality of life and it is almost certain that newer and better ones are on their way. I am firmly convinced, that it is unfair to consider it any less than one of the greatest gifts.