r ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, with the improvement in the standard of living, owning a car has become a need for every individual. Due to this advancement, however, traffic jams have become a common site in most cities around the globe. The reasons as well as initiatives to improve the current scenario are highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, due to the over-crowding of roads because of the excessive usage of private vehicles, commuting time has been impacted severely even for shorter distances. Moreover, there is congestion on several routes during office hours or school hours leading to a greater number of accidents. To exemplify- United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organization’s recent survey has shown a significant rise in road incidents due to the crashing of private automobiles largely. In order to curb this issue, the government should step in to regulate the situation. Additionally, the consequences of owning more vehicles have also impacted the environment severely due to higher levels of smoke emission and the depletion of energy resources at a rapid pace. The national authorities should work toward the development of public transportation infrastructure and encourage the pupils to switch to these modes of travel. Furthermore, some of the corporates are also taking initiatives and are tying up with electric vehicles in order to provide cab services to their employees. To summarize, for the well-being of society it is essential to limit the extensive usage of cars and look for alternatives that help in controlling the traffic as well as preserving the environment in the long run. Carpooling should be widely leveraged as a means of improving the current scenario and reducing the dependence on private automobiles.