Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether adverts influence our purchasing habits or not is a debatable topic. In my opinion, irrespective of age, education, or awareness, advertisements manipulate all of us because of the vast resources that go into marketing these days. On the one hand, it is often claimed that ads are so effective that they make us buy things. This is because most people are bombarded with advertisements of one sort or another, ranging from tv commercials and billboards to blurbs on Facebook and Instagram, on a daily basis. Even if individuals do not actively seek such promotions or pay much attention to them, the brands and the products become imprinted on our brains. Consequently, the next time we want to buy something, the products which are marketed the most seem more familiar leading us to choose them over the ones which lack similar promotion. On the other hand, some people are of the opinion that the ubiquity of advertisements in the modern age has led to their ineffectiveness. They argue as most people grow up seeing tons of adverts every day, they turn out to be indifferent toward the message. This argument can be backed up by the examples of products that we see advertisements of but never act on them. In my own life, even though I see a plethora of online gambling commercials while watching football on tv, I have never bet my money on sports. In fact, people of the current generation make their purchases based more on their preferences than on advertising. In my point of view, nobody is immune to the effects of advertising. As marketing has become a serious academic discipline, university departments apply social, psychological, and evolutionary principles so as to perfect the techniques of influencing human behavior. Hence, the people who create commercials or ad campaigns are armed with this knowledge of coaxing potential consumers into buying. Furthermore, businesses are able to target all demographics and niches in the market with several different types of advertisements due to the amount of money involved in this field. In conclusion, it is therefore unsurprising that a harmful product like Coca-Cola is drunk all over the world due to its brand awareness rather than its quality.