These days, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

A balanced diet is of paramount importance for every individual to live a healthy lifestyle., Unfortunately food nowadays is transported from far areas due to lack of homegrown food.some people believe that cultivation in local farms is eco-friendly and has a variety of financial merits. this essay will describe the positive sides of natively grown food and will elaborate upon the side effects of imported food items. On the one hand, growing our own food in a home garden or on local farms possesses several advantages both economically and environmentally. To begin with, firstly, locally sowed crops are more economical. in other words plantation of vegetables and fruits on a regional basis tends to be less expensive as compared to the one imported and thus saves a significant amount of capital due to avoiding transportation charges. Secondly, to most of the, population the freshness of items matters a lot and they prefer to produce their own food locally which is fresh and healthy. Finally, using our own soil to produce edibles has a very positive impact on the environment. it keeps the climate clean, and pleasant and decreases the greenhouse effect. this in turn leads to the fall in natural disasters such as heavy rain and floods. Moreover, it also makes the country self-sufficient in its food requirements and can even export this item to earn money. On the other hand, the cultivation of local food has a few demerits, therefore, extra time is required to take care of the production. The manpower required to fulfil this task is another side effect. To add on, the plantation of crops also results in the attraction of insects and bugs to the area which leads to different diseases like malaria etc. Finally, land requirements add more to the negative sides, for a lot of extra space is needed for locally grown food. to illustrate this, heavily populated areas can not afford to grow their own food due to the shortage of extra land. In conclusion, edible items can be imported from outside. nevertheless, in my,opinion growing own food on a local basis is far more beneficial to the population. This seems to sound financial, eco-friendly and healthy as well.