In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Buying places where to live has become one of the most appealing luxuries. This is explained mainly by cultural reasons that have been inculcated generation by generation as well as the popularization of investing in different fields. From my perspective, I consider that it has drawbacks and benefits, and in this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To start with, from prehistoric times, it has been considered an honour to be the owner of many houses and landscapes. Therefore, most people are raised by receiving this kind of teaching and they staunchly believe that it is the main goal in their lives. However, there are many social conditions that prevent this achievement. For example, in Colombia, most people are located in a socio-economic middle position, which means that if they desire to buy or build a house, they have to make high-amount loans and pay for the instalments for more than 25 years. Additionally, one of the main stumbling blocks is that human behaviours change constantly, then humankind could strongly desire to live in a specific spot, however, thoughts and feelings could be modified by many other external causes such as workplaces, partnerships, relationships, etc. As a consequence of this, there is a lack of sense of belonging and people have regrets considering that they have made unnecessary endeavours in case of acquiring any properties. For example, research performed in Mexico showed the increasing rate of houses and apartments that have been sold by the owners during the last decade. To sum up, there are many cultural reasons that explain why many societies still believe that acquiring their own building should be the main purpose in life. Nevertheless, many options should be taken into account to decide where and when.