These days consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from various companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertising? What measures should be taken to protect them?

Developing and protecting the value of a brand is integral to a business's success. Paid announcements and marketing, is crucial to do this effectively. Nowadays users of goods and services are frequently notified of new products by cooperating organizations. I believe that consumers are strongly influenced by regular advertising, and its regulation is paramount to protecting consumers ' rights. To start with, advertising, to a notable degree, has significantly affected the way and manner in which people choose products for consumption. This is because, through these repeated announcements the general public is convinced of the quality and value of a commodity and is therefore persuaded to buy such a product. Also, companies which were unknown to the public have been brought to the limelight through advertising. Furthermore, paid awareness creation has indirectly affected the value consumers place on various products and has directly led to the consumption of such. For example, research commissioned in the United States revealed that more than 68 per cent of iPhone users got their iPhones following advertising in the media. Because consumers are vulnerable to fraud, deceptions, misinformation and misinterpretations, their rights need to be enshrined and protected. One way to achieve this is via government regulation in which all forms of advertising are subjected to legislative scrutiny. Again, a huge financial tax should be imposed on organizations for any public awareness creation. Also, companies which violate the rights of consumers should be punished by way of a fine or temporary ban. For example, it was said on Channels TV that Germany recently passed a bill prohibiting companies from announcing products to the public without prior government research on the commodity. In conclusion, advertising is an essential aspect of business and consumers ' preference has been greatly influenced by it. While this may be to the advantage of the users, the protection of their rights is necessary.