In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles overweigh the disadvantages?

As the topic suggests, it is not an far-fetched notion that all vehicles will eventually be switched to driverless ones. Although there are some potential drawbacks to a fully-automated driving system, I believe that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both perspectives in detail. Some researchers argue that it is impossible to achieve perfect machine regulation and that this could potentially be dangerous. However, current scientific progress is advancing at a faster pace than expected. For instance, the partially automated regulation system is already available in many types of family cars in Japan, especially when parking and driving on the highway. In fact, it is quite safe because the car is equipped with a 360-degree camera and sensors that analyze the angles. All the driver has to do is step on the brake pedal, and the car will automatically stop when it senses an obstacle or a person in close proximity. It will not take long for companies to produce cars with a fully-automated system that is much safer than conventional vehicles. Furthermore, it is often individuals who are drowsy, intoxicated, or suffer from dementia who cause deadly traffic accidents, and there has not been a single confirmed case where a lack of regulation of the car's assistant system was to blame. In fact, driving for long distances on highways can be tiring and monotonous, making it easy for drivers to become distracted and fall asleep at the wheel. In many accident cases, individuals with dementia report that they accidentally stepped on the accelerator when they encountered someone unexpectedly. These two problems will be resolved with the assistance of perfect artificial intelligence (AI)-assisted driving systems in the future. In summary, despite the opposing views on the subject of driverless vehicles, it is evident that they offer a promising solution for minimizing the risk of life-threatening car accidents. The advantages of this technology far outweigh any potential drawbacks, making it a viable option for reducing the number of accidents on the road. Collaboration between IT and car companies is crucial in the development of fully autonomous vehicles, which could potentially lead to a safer and more efficient transportation system.