The numbers of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

There has been no clear evidence that fewer children read books for fun. However, considering a few factors in the recent past, I will not only explain why the count has dropped significantly but also what could be done to motivate them. Primarily, "scientific advancements and technology" play a crucial role. The cost of televisions and mobile devices is not high. As a result, more families purchase these gadgets, and children succumb to them rather than reading books. According to a survey conducted in India, 95 per cent of children preferred watching cartoons on their parents' smartphones rather than reading comics and magazines. In addition, due to the ever-increasing competition, the newer generation spends more time reading books only to crack exams. To illustrate, Australian children do not even admire the pictures in the book since they are so busy. While it may seem difficult to change the mindset of children, there is a possibility of provoking children to read so as to enjoy. Firstly, parents should discourage their offspring from using computers and video games. On the contrary, they should purchase novels and books with beautiful pictures. This might stimulate curiosity as well as will attract enjoy the process of reading. Last but not the least, parents should read out books to children in an exciting manner. This will definitely inculcate good reading practises among children. To sum up, Individuals should not lose hope. Although we are living in a fast-paced and competitive environment, there are methods to draw the attention of novices to read only to enjoy rather than reading to tackle tests. Also,the use of technology should be totally discarded so that children can derive pleasure in other ways. Not only skimming and scanning.