In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

Around the world, many feasts relating to traditions are at risk of becoming outdated and irrelevant these days. In my opinion, this contributes to issues concerning cultural disintegration and should be countered by citizens in concert with legislation. The main issues resulting from abandoning traditional ceremonies concern culture. To commence with, a whole host of commercial holidays such as Black Friday and Christmas are gaining in popularity which naturally threatens smaller cultural communities and their festivals. For example, in China, there are numerous ethnic associations living in remote areas that struggle to preserve their traditions over time as locals learn more about the outside world and leave their hometowns. As these groups disperse further both physically and virtually it will be a challenge for old traditions to persist and the results may impact the stories they hand down through generations, their language, traditional dishes and other aspects of culture. The optimal remedies for the weakening of traditional cultures are for authorities and individuals to actively encourage traditional events. Governments can make the greatest difference. For instance, states could fund organizations that aim to promote historic celebrations by staging local events and reaching out to older members of the community. Younger people could likewise attempt to engage more with their roots and connect with the sources of their culture. This occurs to some extent already when traditional festivities are advertised on social media to bring in a wider audience and greater attention. In conclusion, the loss of conventional festivals is a boon to globalization and injures the cultural identity of various groups. This development must be confronted by locals on their own individual initiative and encouraged by legislators.