Some people claims that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Increased production of garbage from households is a serious environmental problem in the modern world. A proportion of the public believes that the recycling of this home-based trash is inadequate and legislations on this is the only solution for the issue. Although strengthening the legal framework is an important step in enhancing the recycling process, I think that there are other important steps which cannot be ignored. Proponents of this argument support it because the statutory requirements imposed on waste management is proven to be highly productive. For example, the Colombo municipal council mandated a seperate collection of reusable trash in 2010 for all households to manage it optimally. This enables the garbage collectors to seperate the reusable waste efficiently and avoids unnecessary contamination of such trash. It supports the fact that the legislation is the single most important measure to be taken to ensure a boost in the process of recycling the waste. On the other hand, it cannot be forgotten that there are many other effective measures for this burning issue. Firstly, people need an attitudinal change regarding the waste management because many believe that it is a responsibility of the authorities than their individual responsibility. Similarly, governments can reward individuals who take initiatives to recycle their waste. For example, a tax exemption for people who follow this initiative will be more effective than forcing them to follow the protocols laid by the governments. In conclusion, I believe that imposing legislations in an important step to maximise the recycling of home-based waste production. However, this is not the only way out as there are many more effective methods to change the attitudes of the public. Authorities should focus more on alternative methods in future as legislations per se will not be effective for a complex problem.