In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. WHY might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In many parts of the world, people always desire to possess a house rather than live as a tenant. The reason for this could be financial security, or perhaps this is just a way for people to state their social status through their possession. In my opinion, this could be a big motivation for economic development. A household normally faces a load of billings every month such as electricity, internet, education, etc. A house rental bill can actually become a straw that may break the camel's back; therefore adults nowadays tend to do at every cost to possess a domicile to lessen the burden on their monthly bill. This also helps breadwinners secure the family’s financial condition and use that extra money on house rental payments to enhance life quality such as saving up for a holiday or buying more household conveniences. Additionally, it is usually believed that settling down and building a home is a milestone in a person’s life. Thus, to some folks, their residence is evidence of their successful life or that they have reached another milestone. This is somehow a way that people believe to help them claim their social status among others. As far as I am concerned, this is a natural development. In history, humans have shown themselves as ambitious creatures who always desire to dominate and possess their surroundings. The craving for owning property will become a motivation that pushes a man to work harder to create wealth and riches. This will indirectly do good for the economy when everyone is putting themselves in a competition to make more money. In summary, people have their own reasons to yearn for a house of their own. This can be advantageous to the individual themselves and society in many ways.