Some people say that in our modern age because of advancement in digital technology it is no longer necessary for people to learn handwriting skills, but others believe handwriting is still an important skill. Discuss these views and state you opinion.

It is often argued that due to advancements in digital technology in a new era, there is no requirement for people to learn handwriting skills whereas others think this skill is still vital. I have discussed both views and given my opine as below. To begin with, it is certainly true that handwriting skills are not a necessity in the digital world. In other words, people do not need to write anything on paper because of the availability of various computer applications and software. Moreover, most of the jobs could be done without using a pen or pencil owing to technological benefits. Apart from this, people agree that handwriting consumes lots of time and has no added value in our daily life. For example, in the earlier days, doctors used to give prescriptions on paper in their own writing which has been changed now to computer print. Hence, I believe that handwriting skill is not a priority. On the other hand, some parts of society agree that handwriting skill is still under consideration and should not be avoided. This is because the skill represents our culture and old practice. Our parents and grandparents usually rely on this skill only. They passed their whole life by using these skills. Nowadays, it has been seen that handwriting skills have more weightage than others in many competitive exams which shows a positive approach towards it. For instance, as per research conducted by the University of India, more than 70% of technical institutes arranged handwritten exams in the year 2021. This suggests the significance of the skill. To conclude, it is evident from the above discussion that handwriting skills might be used very less due usage of electronic equipment at the current time, nevertheless, it is extremely needed to maintain our old history, culture and our own development.