Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a lot of people have suggested that the government should make sugary beverages and food cost more making them less accessible to people, which could result in fewer health problems. Although I agree that this can be beneficial, it still comes with some drawbacks. To begin with, sugary food and beverages nowadays are available anywhere and they are often easy to access, hence, making them more expensive can easily decrease the number of people purchasing them. This concept was once implemented in the intake of alcohol and tobacco resulting in a decline in their use. Additionally, this can result in fewer health problems such as diabetes, obesity as well as various heart issues. Moreover, It has been reported that more than 40% of diabetics attribute their illness to the consumption of unhealthy foods high in sugar. Despite the numerous merits that can come along with increasing the cost of sugary foodstuffs, some disadvantages should not be neglected. For example, a lot of low-income families depend on cheap processed food. If the government decides to raise the prices, this can have a direct negative effect on such individuals. In such a case, healthy alternatives should be available at a reasonable price as well, encouraging a better lifestyle for everyone. In a nutshell, increasing prices can account for many advantages and can help lead a healthier society by encouraging healthy eating. However, to ensure this policy is fair and effective, it should be paired with affordable access to healthy alternatives, particularly for lower-income households