In some countries, it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every child in the world has the right to be educated. Some countries believe that school education should start at age four, while others allow children to start at seven or eight, which I consider too late for the following reasons. Scientifically, it is well known that children ’s cognitive abilities are at their peak during the first few years, especially from age four. Interestingly, recent research has revealed that a four-year-old child can learn more than two languages. Additionally, psychologists state that it is easier for parents to guide and educate their children in these early years. Enrolling children in school as early as possible is also highly recommended, as it can help them learn to form relationships more naturally and effectively. On the other hand, delaying education until the age of seven or eight can lead to a loss of this “golden period” of learning. At this age, children often find it harder to absorb new information. Moreover, learning new languages and skills may take longer, and joining other children in class can be more challenging than if they had started earlier. To sum up, I firmly believe that age four is a valuable time to begin investing in children ’s education. Governments should work to increase awareness of children ’s cognitive abilities in these early years to ensure optimal learning outcomes.