in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages of disadvantages of giving children this message?

There's a saying that claims "life is all about staying motivated, disciplined and encouraged". So, it is accepted by some that if children are encouraged to make an adequate effort in everything, they will accomplish that. Despite the fact that there are some drawbacks to this notion, in my personal opinion, the benefits greatly outstrip the disadvantages. On the one hand, no one can deny that encouraging children have a great role in children's future achievements. By doing this, it is more likely for them to channel their energies, which makes them set goals for their lives. For example, they intend to be a doctor and they firmly believe by working tirelessly, they attain their goal. Another advantage is that it gives their lives direct purpose because they have plans. In other words, they would concentrate on the right thing rather than wasting their time doing the wrong action, which has nothing to do with their targets. On the other hand, the pitfalls of telling children to do their best and work hard enough in order to their aims should not be overlooked. Firstly, it is not fully guaranteed to succeed in what you put effort into. It means that, due to being unrealistic, some expectations are probably doomed to failure. Despite all humanly possible energy and resources they have taken, they would never be attainable. Consequently, this damages their confidence since they think they were not good enough to be successful. It may, therefore, lead to a lack of motivation. In conclusion, weighing both sides of the arguments, I would say that the positives of encouraging children outweigh the drawbacks because it guides them to have clear purposes and plans.