Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some regions of the globe have always struggled with access to clean water. Yet, this issue has now become universal due to increasing need for it in all parts of the world. Lawn irrigation is likely a major contributing factor to this rise in demand. To address this issue, municipalities can introduce limits to the volume of water used for gardening purposes. Today, unlike any other time in history, people are consuming an exorbitant amount of water to maintain their lawns. Historically, irrigation has always been used for agriculture, whereas in modern times, people are choosing to use it for aesthetic purposes too. And, because a majority of houses in the UK have lawns or yards, the fresh water used to maintain these cumulates to a collosal amount. For instance, it was found that the average household in the UK uses more water for irrigation than any other purpose. In fact, this was the primary reason behind the introduction of the hose pipe ban by the English Government in an effort to reduce this usage. A feasible solution can be to limit the volume of water used for gardening. By enacting these limits, governments can significantly reduce the amount of water used for purposes not directly linked to health or sanitation. Also, in addition to saving resources, governments will be able to free up more of their constituents' time for more productive pursuits. For example, in 2006, one man in Brighton decided to pursue his passion for pottery after the aforementioned hose pipe ban and became the most acclaimed potter in the United Kingdom. To sum up, availability of fresh water has always been a concerning topic; now more than ever. However, this problem can, undoubtedly, be addressed to an extent by limiting domestic irrigation, freeing up resources for governments and time for individuals.