You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, modern telecommunications allowed the transcript of their content leading to a discussion about its property. This essay will focus on the positive aspects and drawbacks of granting access to them by governments. To begin with, keeping a trace of internet communications could help police work, increasing the world's safety. In addition, using everyday mobile phones and applications everyone is already under control by companies behind them, so why not agree to let the government do a similar profiling activity? For instance, imagine the high frequency of personalized advertisements that appear online after collecting past research and the voices of each user. Furthermore, criminal acts are increasing on the World Wide Web, if agencies could track these records more and more criminals could be caught before. For example, it is documented how many trials against mafia families were closed thanks to the use of interceptions of their calls. On the other hand, privacy is an, insidious topic perceived differently by each individual. Firstly, all citizens have their own rights and their personal conversations should not be government's business. This can be visualised through the example of George Orwell's book "Animal Farm" where the state knew everything about the population, leading to totalitarianism and mind control. Another disadvantage of this technique is the high danger of keeping personal materials of people all in one place governed by institutions. It is easy to imagine what would happen if a hacker managed to steal this information, resulting in blackmail and total chaos. To conclude, the government being a listener in conversations is a powerful tool to improve safety, but should not trespass on the privacy of citizens. In my opinion, this could be done only for individuals with criminal records.