Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic What are the advantages and disadvantages for locals who visit such places?

Nowadays, there is an increase in tourism to remote tourist attractions such as the Sahara desert and the Antarctic. In this essay, we will look at some reasons for advantages and disadvantages for locals. On the one hand, there are many pros to visiting areas such as the Sahara Desert and Antarctica. For example, many believe that these areas may gain more exposure by being advertised in a positive light, especially on social media platforms. As a result, more people may be convinced to visit these locations bringing in more income. Touring these places with difficult conditions can bring more opportunities for the local people as the requirement for jobs increases. For instance, more infrastructure like airports, roads and hotels need to be built in order to cater for international needs. Hence, providing the local population with jobs. On the other hand, where there are positives, negatives are bound to exist. Firstly, although building infrastructure provides jobs, a lot of nature may get destroyed in building new infrastructure. For example, areas of woodland which may be home to many flora and fauna need to be destroyed and removed in order to make space for hotels and roads alike. Therefore destroying wildlife and nature. Secondly, littering can increase with the arrival of a larger population, increasing landfill sites and consequently causing pollution. To conclude, several factors have a negative impact towards the community as tourism expands causing many disadvantages. However, if these factors are controlled and managed in an eco-friendly way, tourism can flourish reaping benefits for the community as well as many advantages.