Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the present age, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether the sense of competition or cooperation should be encouraged in children and which of these qualities would be more useful in their future. This essay will examine both of the presented views. To start with, accepting a challenge and overcoming one helps to deal with obstacles in real life. To be more exact, the development of a feeling of competition comes with a great deal of other useful features for real life, like bravery, encouragement or creativity. Accepting a challenge puts a child into a situation where he needs to decide and think of solutions to deal with a certain circumstance, leading to character development. For example, kids are more likely to do their homework with more effort when compared to others. Moreover, a competitive way of thinking improves a young one’s goal targeting. More precisely, if a juvenile knows how to set their targets and tasks right, it will make it much simpler to organize the work in future. In contrast, adolescents who are enabled to cooperate expand their social skills. Each human being becomes desperate for assistance from others at some point in life, so it is important to teach juveniles how to socialize and behave with other kids. Consequently, cooperation is one of the main aspects of advancing social skills, which develops one’s feeling of generosity and sympathy. For instance, It is proven that children tend to help and cooperate with an adolescent, who has shown them the most compassion and empathy. On the basis of the above discussion, I tend to believe that a sense of cooperation is more valuable to the children and their future, since it provides better communication skills, which is vital in our society.