Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In a society where consumerism is a style of life and tons of products are being used every day, waste has become a serious problem for humankind. Some people argue that more garbage from households should be recycled and support the introduction of policies which promote this activity. It is my point of view that the application of this sort of legislation would be beneficial for this situation and at the same, time it would force more people to reuse their trash more than before. First of all, politicians and law enforcement bodies have the potential to create and apply politics which obligate people to reuse all their waste. In order to implement these kinds of measures, they could introduce some penalties that individuals should pay if rules are not followed. For instance, if a family does not collect the rest of the oil they have used for cooking and bring them to a container, they should pay a penalty amounting to 150 euros. Measures encouraging recycling could also be put into practice, so the public becomes more proactive in this regard. To illustrate, people could be rewarded after reusing their waste at a specific point, receiving an amount of money or a voucher in exchange. As a result, people would feel more motivated and more and more stuff would be reused. In conclusion, I fully agree that legislation is an effective instrument to combat the excessive waste generated by human beings all around the world. I believe that officials should take legal action and implement policies to both obligate and encourage people to reuse the waste they produce.