Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Distant education has become a trending way of learning. However, some pupils believe that online study is less effective when compared to offline modes of learning. I partially agree with the aforementioned statement and reasons in favour and against are highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, attending a course at university results in better exposure for any individual and helps them in understanding and working with their peers. Additionally, instructor-led classes can improve the concepts and result in better attention towards the area of study. For instance - a recent survey conducted by United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organization demonstrated a better understanding of concepts and ideas for 70 per cent of students attending school physically compared to 30 per cent attending the same sessions virtually. Furthermore, classroom lectures also help in stimulating group discussions and solving doubts and queries can be more effective. On the contrary, online learning platforms have gained relevance specifically during the covid times when academic institutions were unable to conduct classes in a traditional manner, turning normal courses into distant courses thereby reducing the negative consequences on literacy levels. Furthermore, with the evolution of executive learning, the working population can also focus on their learning while continuing to work. To exemplify, as per a recent study conducted by International Labour Organisation, 65 per cent of working adults have enrolled themselves in further schooling with the help of distance courses available. In conclusion, although the online training system has resulted in numerous benefits yet the quality of lessons provided by a teacher in person is invaluable. However, the different modes of teaching enable individuals in all age groups to resort to different alternatives thereby imbibing a habit to learn throughout their lives.