Many people believe that zoos are cruel, others believe that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is currently easy to find a zoo as there are many of them around the world. However, it is doubtful if they treat animals well or just want to make money out of it. As it is hard to be known, should a place be trusted to protect wildlife from danger or not. Let's analyse both points and I'll give my point of view to conclude it. On the one hand, it is possible to find sanctuaries which usually claim to have the duty of caring for injured pets and afterwards place them back in nature. Although, when some animal suffers an injury such as being hit by a car for example and does not completely recover from this, it consequently cannot survive if left in the jungle. Moreover, take the risk of getting into another accident. On the other hand, there is a range of zoos with a business purpose only. Sadly, in this case, animals are just a kind of attraction. Allegations of mistreatment, lack of hygiene and bad living conditions are unfortunately common in these venues. They pretend to treat creatures fairly when the public comes to visit, but that might be totally the opposite when no one is seeing this. To sum up, briefly, the pros and cons are easily found in keeping those places open. Even though knowing some of them just have the intention to help, there are still others taking advantage of it through bad treatment, and that is the reason why I truly believe the government should shut zoos down and take full responsibility for watching and caring for wildlife.