Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Many people believe that education is the first route student take to build a prosperous future. While a growing number of folks prefer to pursue their study, overseas others want to further study in their countries. Undoubtfully, studying abroad has many advantages and disadvantages too. For many reasons which I am going to discuss extensively in this essay, I strongly believe that all the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, critics of this statement argue that many of the best, most talented students never come back to their home countries. This is especially the case when we are speaking about developing countries. Once hired by a company, there is a clear pathway to residency and even citizenship in the future. Consequently, a significant percentage will never return and will share their newly acquired expertise with their fellow citizens. Another important point is that studying abroad can be really expensive for the country and for the student, for this reason, some may say it is way better to invest that money in the country’s economy rather than sending young folks abroad. On the other hand, there are some tangible effects of knowledgeable graduates returning to their home countries. To illustrate with an example, when a student travels abroad to study, he will be completely exposed to the positive traditions and cultures of such people. Furthermore, they will get useful benefits from those countries when they come back home. Apart from that, the benefits that students get in their major are incredible. In fact, they will encounter elite professors, academics and people who are the best in their professional fields, so they will acquire good knowledge, experiences and skills in their fields. For this reason, it can be said that those students will be highly respected by people when they return home. It goes without saying, that immense knowledge and experience will significantly contribute to the growth and development of their countries. In a nutshell, despite the risks that talented individuals may choose to reside permanently in a new country, there are way more pros than cons for their motherland and it is recommended to use every opportunity to enlarge one’s knowledge and experience.