There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are various courses for students to study in the school. However, students cannot choose subjects that are suitable for themselves. They have to follow the syllabus which was provided. Hence, there are arguments on the appropriation of those planned schedules. Some people may want to study only academic subjects such as mathematics and sciences and remove all non-academic subjects. This essay will elaborate on reasons why I disagree that students should learn only academic subjects. First, studying non-academic subjects such as sports and cooking is also essential for young people. If they learn those things, they can better manage their life. For example, sports provide a lot of health benefits to players. It creates good behavior for children. They will get familiar with workout routines. Cooking can help teenagers live on their own. They can save money from dining in restaurants. Second, it is not guaranteed that studying mathematics and science will help you to achieve your goal. The student should select subjects from their interests and abilities. For instance, some students may not know that they are good at singing until they join singing classes. There should be spaces for them to try and show their capabilities. They can be a famous singer and succeed in their career as well. To sum up, it is obvious that people will get to the position that they want if they choose the right career which is suitable for them. Students should be offered opportunities to try whatever they want so they can accurately make a decision. Thus, I believe that both academic and non-academic subjects are equally important.