In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

In numerous nations, the population of the elderly is experiencing growth stably. I believe this phenomenon is definitely a negative one since governments will have to invest gigantic funds in facilities such as hospitals. Moreover, youngsters in the countries will inevitably suffer from huge financial burdens. First and foremost, authorities are obliged to allocate enormous funds to medical centres if the percentage of elders is constantly increasing in the nations. Undoubtedly, when there are numerous pensioners in a country, the utilization rate of health centres will automatically skyrocket due to the fact that old people are more inclined to fall ill. For instance, in Taiwan where the population is ageing dramatically, tremendous financial support would have to be allocated to the amelioration of medical institutions. As a result, the Taiwanese government is ineluctably burdened by the colossal expense as the elderly population expands. In addition, with the proportion of old citizens escalating, the youth are bearing the monetary pressure accordingly. Undeniably, if the number of retirees continues to rise in a nation, youngsters will be forced to contribute more taxation since the authority needs gigantic income to sustain the pensioners. For example, over the decades, young working adults had been paying increased tax money annually since the government required pensions for retired individuals. Consequently, Taiwanese youngsters have to endure enormous pecuniary stress due to the ageing of society. In conclusion, I believe the continual growth of elder people in certain countries definitely results in negative outcomes. It not only urges the authorities to contribute more tremendous expenses, but also imposes financial pressure on the youth.