Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learining a foriegn language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many pundits claim that studying a foreign language at elementary school is beneficial for children instead of starting it at high school. Despite being a hindrance in developing an interest towards the mother tongue, I would present that learning a foreign language at primary school can be more advantageous than at secondary school because of the better grasping power of kids at their tender age and less distraction from major subjects during secondary school. Opponents of learning a non-native tongue at elementary school advocate that it is disadvantageous for students because it may distract them from learning their mother tongue. For example, some schools present foreign languages in front of their students as more significant in building their future. As a result, learning the first language may become mundane to them. However, I would argue that to stimulate their students to learn the natal tongue, teachers should emphasize its benefits equally. Further, one clear advantage of having a foreign language as a subject in primary education is that kids have better cognitive responses in grasping new things. For instance, several studies have shown that a younger mind has a better grasping capability than an older one. The more early they start, the more smooth it can be for them to pick up. Additionally, having a second language as a subject in secondary education can put an extra burden on them. Consequently, they may stress out, which can affect their result adversely. Hence, having a non-natal language in elementary education can let the children learn at their own pace without putting an extra burden. In conclusion, while I acknowledge that teaching a second language to students at primary school has a drawback of distraction and loss of interest towards their natal tongue, I would argue that because of better cognitive power at a young age and less burden of studies compared to high schools, advantages of learning a second language at elementary school outweigh the disadvantages.