It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, we have access to a lot of different subjects and are free to choose subjects which interest us. However, many countries have noticed a decline in the number of students opting for science and this is caused by various reasons. One of the reasons could be that many students from a young age are pressured by families to pursue science as a main subject. However, this approach has led to their minds being overburdened by the peer pressure they receive, causing them to lose interest in the subject and demotivating them to study the subject. Another reason could be that students pick science as a subject but once they see the course materials, they immediately back out as they are mentally aware of how much learning and determination pursuing science requires which many are not ready for. This fall in numbers affects the future of society negatively. There will be a decreasing number of doctors and nurses causing underemployment and most of them will have to work numerous shifts which leads to lots of stress and a lack of proper sleep. Since they are short-staffed, they cannot tend to all patients quickly, which makes them prioritize life-threating situations first, leaving the rest for later. If this fall keeps increasing negatively, it could cause society to experience a lack of the medical team in many countries In conclusion, the main problem of students not choosing to study science as a subject is because of pressure from the family and lack of interest. This, however, affects society badly, causing a shortage of staff in hospitals, which puts many lives at risk.