Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individuals/ people do?

Human beings are posing a serious threat to the surrounding environment. It is true that there are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted to improve the situation. First of all, irresponsible disposal of industrial waste into the environment is increasing. For instance, some factories have directly discharged chemical waste into rivers without using treatment systems, which leads to widespread water contamination. As a result, local residents may suffer from cancer, heart attack and various other diseases by eating seafood that has been poisoned. In addition, the problem is caused by gas emission from industrially zones and exhaust fumes from vehicles commuting on the streets. Therefore, more or less people may get respiratory, stroke or even lung cancer. Finally, it is the application of excessive chemical fertilizers or weed killers from careless farmers that partly makes the environment worse and worse. In order to solve this pushing problem, each individual should use eco-friendly vehicles instead of cars or other means of transports that release exhausted fumes into the atmosphere; otherwise, we cannot reduce seriously polluted air quality. Although it is hard to change a habit, consumers should adopt products made from disposal materials instead of using plastic bags. Participating in local environment campaigns is also another effective way to raise people’s awareness. Besides, commuters should take public transport rather than driving to offset carbon emissions. In longer terms, governments should enact laws to reduce carbon footprint or encourage companies to use renewable energy. They also need to impose a heavy fine on those who liter on the street or discharge wastes without using treatment systems. Last but not least, the authorities should place decrease taxes on public transport to encourage people to use this kind of transport. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for polluted environment, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.