Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people have huge enthusiasm for a foreign language. Even, some countries require this as a mandatory to be used. On the other hand, people think that it will lead to a social and practical lack in society. It's agreed that foreign language can help us to adapt to the globalization era, but it will create a gap between the community with different factors, such as age. Firstly, the use of a foreign language is one of the most important things as we are now in a globalization era which gives people from overseas access to not only for economy but also other aspects of our life like education and culture. For example, some universities in Indonesia have exchange programs for their students to study in foreign universities, like Europe, Australia, or America where English is a language that is used as a requirement; a student who has a minimum 6.5 IELST score can join the program. Thus, the language helps us to have opportunities to get benefits from the era. So, the use of a foreign language is important now. Nevertheless, the use of that as an obligation will have a negative impact on certain communities like the old generation. For instance, in old age is not easy to study something new like a language, even free-access facilities for those exist, but it most likely only can be accessed from the Internet which uses a computer or handphone. The social barrier will happen to the old and young generation. So, it should not be an obligation for societies. To sum up, proficiency in the use of a foreign language is understandable as a thing that people should have, but as civilians of a country, it will lead to social and practical gaps among the residents if we use it as a mandatory. I believe the use of a foreign language in a certain context will be helpful in facing globalization.