Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Green issues have become increasingly popular among some demographics of our society. Some people strongly believe that one of the most efficient ways of resolving such problems would be a significant rise in fuel prices. This essay will discuss that such change could only be a partial resolution. The reasons supporting this opinion will be discussed below. To start with, a lot of people consider that if we put up the price of petrol and gas for automobiles, we would end up with a much lower number of vehicles on the streets. This in its turn would lead to cutting the number of exhaust fumes, which admittedly are one of the main reasons for causing environmental dilemmas. Furthermore, in case of high gasoline prices, people not only drive less but will generally travel smart, try to stay closer to home for shopping, combining various errands to be more efficient. And this potentially would reduce an average carbon footprint and contribute to conserving nature. Thua these few instances have bolstered an opinion that upsurge of an upsurge in fuel costs would help to tackle the green issues. However, regardless of the benefits above, the idea that environmental challenges could be eradicated only if fuel prices are higher is not completely valid. The rationale behind it is that ecological concerns are caused not only by poisonous car emissions but also by a high number of other factors such as population expansion, pollution of land and water through excessive deforestation, industrialisation and overfilling landfills which emit CO2 and add to greenhouse gas emissions. Therefore, reducing emissions through increasing prices and discouraging people from driving less, will only be an interim solution to the problem. Furthermore, an upsurge in fuel prices will affect transportation-focused industries like airlines and trucking, not only automobiles. Anything that must be shipped or transported—from apples to electronics—could cost more as gas prices rise. This is especially true for products, or components for products, that are manufactured overseas. Overall, the idea that increased prices on fuel would resolve the green issues could potentially lead to a far worse outcome for society. To conclude, this essay argued that increasing prices on fuel could be only a partial solution to environmental concerns and people who believe the opposite underestimate the real effects of what they believe. In my opinion, solving key issues is vital, however, we should not solely depend on one resolution and try to see more efficient and diverse ways of maintaining the environment clean.