News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this.

Images are very rarely shown and published by news channels and magazines. It is a common perspective that the photos speak more than what is written. This essay would discuss some of the benefits and disadvantages of it. Firstly, it is an undeniable fact that a picture holds its significance in the news. Even though many news channels and daily papers are reluctant to show the images but they are very important to a reader because they represent the story more clearly. For instance, a few years ago, a report was published in a paper regarding an earthquake in Japan which made devastating consequences and almost half of the country was destroyed. If there was a photo associated with that briefing then people would have understood very easily the impact which that disaster made. Secondly, compared to words and videos, a picture can draw more attention to the human mind. For example, a research article which was published by Oxford University revealed that the human brain is more capable of remembering pictures rather than words or videos, and illustration is capable of creating special hormones to keep humans attracted to something than other media. In addition, they have extended their elaboration toward memorizing some things. They have suggested the schooling system must pay attention to using pictures while doing studies to get effective results out of their students. In conclusion, I opine that the picture holds a great impact in a news. So there must be a photo associated with an important headline so that the viewers may understand it better. The trend of displaying less amount of photos should come to an end. The newscasters and publishers must think and develop some ways in order to print more photographs for the convenience and better understanding of viewers as this will increase their viewership as well.