Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Athers believes that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, animal lovers are being louder on social media to express their opinions. They believe that wild animals should not be kept in zoos, while some still believe it is good for educational purposes. I agree with the latter. Wild animal is also living creature like us, humans. They own the right to be treated with the same respect. For example, if we are not allowed to keep a human in a cage without a reasonable reason, we should not keep a wild animal too. Unless there is a particular reason such as harmful behaviour has been done or consent was given for a specific purpose. Additionally, I strictly believe that wild animals are only allowed to be kept as long as their needs are fulfilled. Although, I am fully aware that somewhere in this world someone still treats them irresponsibly. To give a clear example in Indonesia where I live, more than 100 cases of zoo mismanagement have been reported. Dozen of animals are found dead as a result. This kind of behaviour cannot be accepted. The government should have a clear standard for companies. Mismanagement will keep happening unless there are proper regulations and sanctions, In conclusion, As long as their needs are fulfilled I agree to keep them in zoos. It is beneficial for educational purposes such as for children learning. However, I am also fully aware that the condition is not ideal currently everywhere. So, I would strongly suggest that all governments establish proper regulations and sanctions for zoo management.