Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our era, advertising is becoming more and more aggressive and targeted even at children. There is an opinion that such activities can have a negative influence on youngsters and must be banned. It is agreed that kids aimed advertising is not a boon and should be abolished. This essay will shed some light on the issue and provide the writer's point of view. To begin with, children's minds are not properly developed and are not ready for aggressive marketing campaigns created by professional marketologists. According to a study conducted at the University of North Carolina in 2016, kids before nine are incapable of deep analysis. Their minds are led just by primitive emotions and senses of comfort. In such conditions, offspring can not distinguish useful and health-beneficial items from junk. So, considering the aforementioned fact, getting rid of additional vexing commercials is not a bad idea. Moreover, before the age of fourteen, kids usually have no money of their own to spend, and supplementary consumption caused by appealing ads becomes an additional burden for parents. According to statistics, the average household with kids aged from three to nine in the U.S. spends approximately seven per cent of its income to cover toddlers' needs in toys, sweet beverages and so on. Given the fact that overconsumption exerts severe pressure not only on families' budgets but on the environment too, banning children's aimed ads could be a brilliant idea for both worlds. To sum up, offspring-targeted marketing campaigns should be banned or at least be strictly regulated. These measures will help reduce negative effects not only on children but also on parents' savings.