Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent years there has been a growing tendency to work or study remotely from home all over the world, owing to the development of technology, which has reduced the costs of this modality of work and study, while enhancing its accessibility. I firmly believe these are good news for everybody, as this can allow people to save plenty of time and at the same time they can carry on a wider variety of activities apart from work and have a healthier life. Likewise, people can have a more flexible schedule and organise much better their private lives. I do not unveil anything if I state that nowadays individuals spend a huge amount of time at work, as well as commuting, thus resulting in a dearth of free time. This is the reason why remote work can have such a positive effect on people's life. To illustrate, we can think of the time a worker can spare if he does not have to go to work and come back home every single day, and instead of commuting, he can join a yoga class or do any other kind of activity, as well as take some time to cook for lunch. As a result, people can live healthier lives. Moreover, we have seen in recent years how this modality of work has played an essential role during the COVID-19 pandemic, allowing people to work remotely and address both work and family responsibilities. For instance, parents benefited a lot from this sort of work, as they were able to take care of their children at the same time. In conclusion, it is my belief that working from home is having an immensely positive impact on people's lives, as individuals have more time for themselves and can enjoy healthier lives, and they can also combine professional and private life in a more flexible way.