People now have the freedom to work and live anywhere in the world due to the development of communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is difficult to imagine the modern world without the development of communication technologies, which allow people to work remotely and reside in any country. This essay will demonstrate how distance work can save employees ' time, give them freedom and become a cost-saving reason for companies but will also show some negative aspects of it. In my opinion, all advantages of remote work outweigh the disadvantages. Nowadays the main trend in the labour market is remote work. Before the pandemic this type of job was available only for IT specialists, but not now. There are plenty of professions, which do not necessarily have to be in the office all the time. Employees eliminate the daily commute and save time for their families and hobbies. For companies, it becomes a good opportunity to save good money for rent, furniture and overhead costs, if less count of employees visits the office constantly. Additionally, corporations located in the big city have one more cost-saving method: they can recruit the best specialists for a lower salary from different regions and countries. On the other hand, the competition in the labour market is rapidly increasing. Candidates do not have any location limits, they can choose an employer anywhere in the world. It becomes extremely difficult for corporations to hold staff, which have plenty of variants to be hired. In order to be more competitive, they need to give higher salaries and more perks than others. It can be a really crucial issue for some developing countries and small companies. In conclusion, despite a highly competitive job market, corporations have a lot of opportunities to save money. Moreover, a lot of employees highly appreciate this trend. Hence, I believe that the positive effects of remote work definitely outweigh the drawbacks. The major argument for me is nowadays, finding a life- work balance has become possible for almost everyone.