Recent research suggests that excessive use of the internet over prolonged periods of time may negatively affect some cognitive functions, particularly attention and short-term memory.' (Source: The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center). Some people say that the internet affects our intelligence. To what extent do you agree? Discuss both sides of the argument and give your own personal opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the impact of making use of the internet. While some claim that using the web significantly influence our intelligence, the opposite makes a statement that the internet does not have a considerable impact on humans. In my opinion, while the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, undesirable affects which using the internet brings for brain is a thing that should not be ignored. Being too dependent on the internet will make humans become passive in real life. For example, Google is an application that help everyone search everything easily with thousands of results with just 1 click. However, relying on google is the reason why people read less books and remember less facts. Hence, our brain turns out to be stagnated. Furthermore, using the Internet too much will make people less willing to make friends. In my opinion, working with online computers all the time is one of the reason why humans become less active and our intelligence is affected as a consequence. On the other hand, The Internet plays a insignificant role in improving our intelligence. First, the Internet assist us to make better decisions, based on information available in short period of time. Second, young kids can use the internet or educational apps in order to train logical thinking and enhance their knowledge. For example, Duolingo is an free app for every young person to practice thinking and learn a new language, which is a type of intelligence. From my point of view, the web can actually improve humankind intelligence, depending on how people utilize it. To conclude, whether using the internet affect our intelligence depends on how people perceive the web. On the contrary, in this day and age, the Internet actually can bring tremendous benefits for human rather than the undesirable influences that it is known for.