Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been widely discussed about if computers are the most important invention since one hundred years ago. I partially agree with the perspective that computers are important but there are some pros and cons worth discussing. First of all, computers increased women's participation in the workforce, which is an obvious benefit to the economy. After more workers joined the workforce, the overall society could be more productive. This is because the invention of computers created many jobs that do not require physical strength, such as accountants. It allows women to showcase their advantages, for example, their carefulness and awareness of minor mistakes. However, technology developments also pose certain risks. For instance, some low-skilled jobs, such as customer service and sales, will be replaced by artificial intelligence. This means that without control, the unemployment rate would increase. Also, technologies such as artificial intelligence would consume a vast amount of electric power. Carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, would be emitted indirectly while training those artificial intelligence models through the consumption of electric power. This would contribute to global warming and deplete human resources that could be used for developing other industries. Furthermore, computers also could increase the rate of heart disease. This is because most jobs that are related to computers usually require workers to sit in front of them. In other words, workers who use computers to complete their jobs do not get enough exercise, which increases the risk of heart disease. Additionally, because users often do not rest their eyes while watching screens, they might become short-sighted. To conclude, I believe computers should be considered an important invention, but not the most important. However, we need to take actions such as educating people to use them in a healthy way or instituting laws to mitigate artificial intelligence's impact on the economy.