Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that the younger generation has become addicted to smartphones. While there are a series of reasons causing this situation, in my opinion, its disadvantage overweights the benefits. I think many factors contribute to this serious problem. First, parents have no adequate time to spend on their children because of the high work pressure on adults. Instead of accompanying children, parents prefer to leave their children with smartphones. Second, teachers regard the internet as a necessary teaching aid, so they assign more tasks that need to be completed on phones which provides their students with opportunities to use smartphones. Third, some websites or applications constantly offer attractive contents which are addictive to young people. The interaction these reasons, students spend more time on smartphones. In terms of physical health and social abilities as well as other aspects of negative impact, I believe it is not a positive development when children lost themselves in their smartphones. It is obvious that too much online time will lead to a lack of physical exercise and socialising for students. For example, students play video games instead of going out to enjoy real teamwork sports such as football and basketball. Their physical energy will become weak and contract different health problems such as obesity. Moreover, long screen time is bad for their eyesight. The number of teenagers with eye problems is increasing all over the world. To sum up, not a single factor attribute to this serious problem. I believe that is not a good trend.