Today, many people spend less and less time in their homes. What are the reasons and what are the effects on individuals and society?

In this modern world, an increasing number of residents stay at home for less time. There are several reasons that are accountable for this and some consequences can be expected. Several factors should be responsible for this phenomenon. To illustrate, working adults are too busy for work to have leisure time at home because of excessive workloads nowadays. For example, most employees in China have to work overtime in order to complete the task, and sometimes they even sacrifice their weekends to finish the job. Besides, commuters tend to live in suburban areas for a lower price of housing and rent, and this means that it takes longer to commute so they have less time at home. Furthermore, city dwellers can enjoy numerous entertaining activities in the city and more people, young adults, in particular, would like to spend time with peers rather than stay at home. This could lead to benefits and drawbacks for individuals and society. Firstly, local economies, such as the services industry, can benefit from this. As more people spend less time in their homes, they are expected to spend more time with friends and are more likely to consume when they dine out or watch movies for recreation. Secondly, the prices of housing are more likely to decline because houses are not as important as they used to be. Nonetheless, working adults may suffer from health issues caused by excessive work pressure and have only a limited amount of time to rest. In conclusion, the heavy workloads, skyrocketing house prices and multiple choices of recreation in town make people spend less time at home, and we can expect both benefits and drawbacks from this.