Some people believe in the right to freedom of speech. Others believe in censorship. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether we should allow freedom of expression or support censorship. This essay will examine this question from both points of view and then I will give my own perspective on the matter. On the one hand, democracy, being the main pillar of our society, is based profoundly on the right of people to communicate their ideas openly, regardless of the topic. This means that we can explicitly discuss such fiercely debated topics as politics, religion, or sex, voice our critical ideas freely and not be concerned about the consequences. This privilege had been obtained through significant historic battles, for instance, a seven-decade long struggle against the totalitarian Soviet regime, whose main mission was to deprive its citizens of any civil liberties. Similar cases can still be found all over the world, the most obvious observed in China and North Korea. Therefore, having the prerogative to talk without restrictions is so treasured in modern Western cultures and should continue to be forever. On the other hand, controlling what people say in public may have clear benefits for our society. One evident illustration of this is the reduction of hate speech. Gender and sexual minorities, who have been marginalised for years, if not for centuries, need protection from further bullying and victimization. And this was achieved through imposing the laws that limit hatred and verbal harassment. For this reason, an increasing number of people are convinced in the benefits of censorship. In conclusion, while some consider the freedom of expression as the cornerstone of human rights and a democratic society, others support censorship and see a clear rationale behind introducing it in certain areas. I personally believe censorship gives us opportunity to stop hate even before it can get stated, therefore, it should definitely exist.