Many students at college opt to live on campus. What are the benefits and drawbacks of campus life?

Students at universities and colleges prefer to live on campus rather than attend every day directly from home. While there are many advantages to learning to be independent as well as saving time, there are several disadvantages such as becoming homesick and wasting a lot of valuable time. To begin, there are many benefits of staying at the institutional accommodation. Firstly, residing in a place in which you are responsible for your daily chores helps you to become more independent. For example, you may have to make your own meals, iron your own clothes and do your own weekly shopping. As a result, this can make you become a self-sufficient individual as well as teach you independency. Secondly, many students may have chosen campus accommodation as they travel from other distant cities. For instance, my brother studied at the University of Cambridge which is a 6-hour train ride from where we lived. Consequently, commuting every day would have been near impossible, a complete waste of time and very costly. Therefore it was cheaper for him to avail of the option of staying on campus and travelling home every other weekend. On the other hand, where there are many advantages, unfortunately, disadvantages also co-exist. First and foremost, one of the major cons is that living away from home can cause homesickness. To cite an example, research suggests that many students residing away from home are most likely to get into some degree of depression and develop anxiety. For this reason, people can have long-term mental illnesses and complications. Similarly, wasting precious time is additionally a major drawback. When children reside with their parents, they are well looked after and have certain restrictions. Hence at colleges, pupils may resort to partying and wasting time rather than concentrating on their studies if not restricted. To conclude, while there are multiple advantages such as becoming self-supporting together with saving time and money, they come at a cost of developing stress and getting into the wrong crowd. Thus, to overcome these negatives, more support groups should be available along with tighter rules and regulations.